Rectangular Pedestrian Hybrid Hawk Beacon Crossing Warning System - Transportation Solutions and Lighting, Inc

Pedestrian Hybrid Beacon

HAWK (Solar Powered High-Intensity Activated CrossWalK)

ELTEC’s innovative, state-of-the-art Mikrós EIC (ELTEC Intelligent Controller) provides a low-powered DC controller solution for solar powered hybrid beacon systems.

When a traffic signal is not justified under MUTCD signal warrants or a decision is made not to install a traffic control signal, a pedestrian hybrid beacon should be considered to facilitate pedestrian crossings. The HAWK is a special type of hybrid beacon used to warn and control traffic at marked, unsignalized crosswalks to assist pedestrians crossing a street or highway.

The MUTCD standards (Chapter 4F 2009 Edition) require:

  • Two Beacon Faces for Each Approach (minimum requirement)
  • Pedestrian Signal Head (WALK / DON’T WALK) at Each End of Crosswalk (countdown timer optional)
  • System / Crossing Pedestrian Activated

Fearures and Benefit

Solar Powered

  • Customized solar sizing: ensures sufficient power in winter months
  • Eliminates electric utility connection and service
  • Eliminates power interruptions
  • Virtually no maintenance or operational costs
  • Maintenance-free AGM battery performs better in cold climates
  • Low Voltage, Low Wattage Signal Heads
  • DC pedestrian head with countdown timer
  • LEDs consume no more than 5 watts

Flexible System: Tailored for Project Requirements

  • Solar panels: site-specific mounting options
  • Available in AC or solar powered
  • Pedestrian push button: brand flexibility

25 Month System Warranty


Product Description

Texas A&M Transportation Institute found:

  • A 96% stop rate for drivers stopping at activated beacons
  • No issue of drivers stopping on dark (inactive) beacons
  • 91% of pedestrians crossing the street at PHB locations pushed the buttons to activate the device.

Prices vary by quantities - Please contact us for a custom quote in 15 minutes or less, guaranteed: / (800) 216-4044 or fill out our contact us form here

Serving all of Florida Including Broward County, Palm Beach, Miami, North Florida, South Florida, along with Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina & Louisiana.